Encontrando el Mundo

By Mari

La Recoleta Feria

The feria in Recoleta is almost a weekly hang out place for me. It's only about 5 blocks from my apartment and I love to go and sit on the grass while listening to music and eat the delicious food the vendors are walking around selling. On this particular day I ate the best pan relleno that I've had since I arrived in the city, and the fruit stands were selling watermelon finally! Summer has officially arived :)

Side note*
Watermelon has always been a fruit that I associate with Latin America. It appears in many still life's by Mexican artists, but more importantly, when Holly and I were travelling through Costa Rica last winter, one of the things that we were obsessed with (aside from listening to Shakira on repeat) were batidos de sandia, watermelon smoothies! They make them with water, not milk, and after a day on the beach, walking around in the hot sun, they are the most hydrating, refreshing, delicious things ever. We loved them so much we even made up a song about them, haha :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.