Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

Otter Then Seal Morning

Some of you will recall a previous entry titled "Otters?" of a tiny little dot in Carradale Bay that I thought was an Otter.

Well today when out trying to catch another nice sunrise there they were, 2 of them just off the mouth of the river. With the new big zoom camera surely I could get a bit closer to them. Unfortunately, I haven't practised much with the zoom and I found it difficult to control at x30. I would have been much better taking a few more wide shots and at least getting them in the frame.

This is the only wide shot I took and the object in the water on the left is one of the Otters (best viewed in LARGE). The other object is a marker buoy. I got a couple of close ups which are still not clear but at least can be seen as Otters.

After I took these shots I got into a position behind a rock where I stood and watched the Otters play for about 20 minutes. It appeared to be playful fighting as they chased after each other and then wrestled together. By this time they were about 100 metres away from me and while zoomed blips weren't great due to the light, a short video of them turned out quite well.

Its amazing how sunrises are quickly forgotten when Otters come out to play!
My next challenge is to try and get closer for a better blip.

Thanks to everyone for all yesterday's stars and favourites, which resulted in a Spotlight appearance. I never cease to be amazed by the popularity of Carradale sunrises!

******Sadly, following the helpful comments below, I have to report that my "Otters" are in fact almost certainly baby seals. I am disappointed to say the least, but will keep trying to blip the real Mr Otter!!*****

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.