Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Geometry

I love the sharp angles here in this photo looking towards the head of Loch Striven, in Argyll. I took it on the kind of morning walk I used to dream of when I was working - when the sun was at its highest on a cold day and the classroom seemed stuffy and confining. I used to long simply to walk out, drive for a bit - this is 12 miles from home - and be on my own.

This morning was perfect - although there was the odd shot echoing from the glens and the far side of the loch as hapless pheasants met their pre-ordained fate. There were pheasants everywhere - giving us heart attacks as they rose squawking in panic at our approach, squaring up to each other in a field, scuttering about in the dead bracken - and two herons came and went on languorous wings above the still water of the loch.

For all the customary gloom in this part of the world, when we have a fine morning like this, I can't think of anywhere I'd rather live.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.