just allan

By allan

Lime Light

The Isle of May from the Biel at West Barns at about 9AM this morning, the lighthouse still blinking away. I waited for ages for the heron to get out of the way but it just wouldn't and I was in a hurry.

I sat in the house all day with the internet mysteriously half-working. I could get to most of America, like Google and Flickr, but not to a lot of the UK. I think from trial and error ('the connection has timed out') that it's BT from Sky that was done in. BT are the backbone for a lot of big sites and since I couldn't get to bt.com either... That's my theory.

I couldn't connect to work either. So, I was emailed (via Google) some big files to whack away at with nerdy tools on Linux and find out things about slow computers that are VERY VERY BIG computers and have no business being slow. So, that worked. Still slow, but I have some clues.

Later on Ola and Paul's children came round after school and we baked biscuits (because they're quicker than cakes) and then after that Dotty's boys' bikes arrived with the suspiciously shifty Tesco delivery man. Turned out he was shifty because "the kids are asking what's in the van!" - and he didn't want to let on it was bikes in case it spoiled their Christmas. How nice is that?

Now it's late, I have to explain all this nerdyness to management tomorrow, and I'd better get some sleep. Phew.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.