Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Under the boardwalk

Under the boardwalk
Down by the sea
On a blanket with my baby
That's where I'll be


Check out our happy set! Of all the 100s between us today, this is the Callum smile I love most. And so it became the Blip.

OK so this one comes with the proviso that I may have set it all up for Cassandra and smiled prettily, but if you don't get the composition right in a photo (for me back to when I shot film and there was no tweaking on the computer to crop, that's always been my absolute must. And get it right in camera) and the focus points, it's a duffer.

Cassandra nailed it and so many of the other lovely shots along with her goddaughter Tayanna, a photographer student on vacation here. I'm so grateful to them I just had to give them big kisses. She's been roped into shooting with us which all happened unexpectedly yesterday and continued today.

Yesterday we covered reflections, backgrounds and focus points, and today catchlights, natural reflectors, transitional light (don't know the official term but it's what I've always called the shadow before you reach the light which is to die for) and seagulls that run away with starfish (actually she pointed that part out to me. I just went running with the video function on the 5Dii after the thing).

I used the tripod for the low light orange boat shots and had Tayanna click away whilst in that position in the absence of the trigger.

Callum - I utterly have loved the fun we've had on the beach these last two mornings. It's just been bliss!

Tonight Reuben read a really sweet and funny book my friend Janelle had given me after Reuben was born and Reuben was then able to announce "I read My Dad" proudly and you know what Reuben, bar a few words I taught you in there which knowing your memory so well, you will never forget, you sure did!

Oooh PS check out my last year's shot of the boys.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.