Big Hill

By bighill

Before the Storm!

I'm so glad i went for a walk this morning, before the snow started, cos apparently we're in for a large dump of the white stuff!!!

I got kiln #3 on this afternoon...that was after making a mistake which lead me to unload the kiln and then reload it....you can get the full story, plus see some of the finished pieces - at my blog here! Some of you lovely blippers have requested seeing the finished product so my latest entry there has some images!

While i was walking this morning, i was vaguely aware of this uneasy feeling....a feeling of 'needing' to get to the studio right away...not to waste any time time just having a walk! After some rooting around, i realised how deep the habits of years ago have anchored themselves. At this time of year....for probably about 15 years....my level of stress was sky high....i'd find myself awake at 3am...redoing my already redone kiln schedule, for the 100th time...it was exhausting. Every minute was accounted for, every step of the process was organized and timed....crazy stuff...but then i was doing a show that last 11 days, in Toronto...and went from 10am - 10pm each day! I needed it to be profitable which meant a very large inventory of work!!! A truly torturous event...and like the real troupers we were, we formed a bond not unlike that which is described by people in jail!! we got very close!!! And they were exciting and wonderful events too.....there was an energy - sort of chaotic - that was quite amazing. I still have strong connections to many of the crafts people i connected with at this show! I miss them, i miss the flurry of activity....and i used to get all dressed up, high heels and all (what a change from dirty studio cloths!!) - and we had fun!

And now, here i am, without the same demands upon my time and energy.....and it is all very doable and at a very easy pace, bordering on the luxurious!!! So, i still have to remind myself that time is not off the essense now...there is time to walk, to blip....and to have a cup of tea with my lovely man on his birthday!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.