I'd rather not if that's ok with you...

In town today for a bit and when I got to the west end there was a large police presence. As I wandered up Lothian Road I saw why, tehre was a group of 2-300 students (and others I assume) marching to protest University fees and general cuts. They were quite vocal but seemed peaceful and in goos spirits so the number of police they had seemed a little disproportionate there were several bikes, 3 or 4 cars a couple of vans and maybe 30 or 40 police on foot.

I'm not criticising the police, in my experience Scottish police are fantastic when it comes to policing demos and protests, incredibly patient with explaining things to protestors and onlookers and I've never seen kettling at any demo I've been to in Scotland. It just seemed like there were an awful lot of them for such a small demo. I guess tehy must either have been expecting it to be much bigger or maybe they had received a specific tip ahead of time.

Hope it all went on peacefully and without any bother. I got a photo of the most colourful protestor for blip.

After that it was into work where there is a session of sports massage available to staff. It's £3 for 45 minutes and gives the students to practice both consultation and massage. It's a tough gig heading in for a 45 massage session but someone has to be selfless and help out the students...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.