Daily Encounters

By RonaldBerry

Orange Crowned Warbler Unconscious to Conscious

I took a look outside through my office window to see what was going on with the weather.

A small bird flew into the window directly in front of my face and fell to the ground out of sight.

I found the small bird outside unconscious but breathing.

Keeping him warm in my hands I thought I'd give it a few minutes to see if it would regain consciousness.

In a few minutes it did begin to stir. My colleague joined me in the "resuscitation" effort.

After a few more minutes the bird opened its eyes, but had no coordinated movement.

My colleague identified it as a Orange Crowned Warbler which are the little birds that frequent the shrub outside her office.

Over the next few minutes the bird began to look around and climbed up onto my finger as a perch.

We place it onto the window sill outside my colleague's office so she could keep her eye on it.

After another brief span of moments it was gone...

Quite a cool outdoor true life adventure that certainly added another dimension to an already good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.