A Story More Than Just an Image

I was doing some last minute grocery shopping today and it was madness on the roads and in the stores. One of my favorite things about the holidays is the sound of the Salvation Army bell - ding a ling, ding, ding, ding a ling. I've heard this sound during the holidays for as long as I can remember.

As I was entering the store a volunteer for the Salvation Army was out in front with his hanging pot for donations. He was talking with another man. When he finished I told him he had to ring the bell as it was my favorite sound of the season. He smiled and greeted me and quickly began ringing the bell - ding a ling, ding, ding, ding a ling... I smiled back and dropped a ten dollar bill in the pot, telling him his action deserved a donation.

I passed the young man again as I left the store. He gave more emphasis to ringing the bell for me. I told him that all my life the sound of that bell was one of my most favorite sounds of the season - original, really non-commercial, just a special bell sound ringing through the air. He smiled and wished me a happy Thanksgiving while continuing to ring the bell. I wished him a happy holiday as I walked out into the parking lot. All of a sudden I heard "Excuse me, sir, excuse me." I turned to see the young man approaching me with his hand in his Salvation Army jacket. When he met up with me he smiled and handed me this official bell. He told me he had an extra and wanted me to always hear my favorite sound during future holidays and any time I wished. I accepted it gratefully, asked him his name, introduced myself and thanked him while shaking his hand. As I turned away to go to my car, I felt tears running down my cheeks. One of the nicest surprise gestures I have ever experienced during the holidays.

After I stowed my groceries, I went back and stuffed a little more money in his donation bucket. I couldn't speak, but he smiled again and appreciated my gratitude. I will cherish this bell for the rest of my life.

Happy Holidays!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.