While on my runs

By waipushrink

The dangers of running

include tripping and falling.

Not exactly the way I had planned to mark the end of a year of blipping daily. I went out for my run as usual this morning, and not very long into it I misjudged the height of a kerb, caught it with my right big toe, and hit the ground almost before I knew what was happening. I took almost all my weight on my right hand first, which protected the camera which I carry in my left hand as there was less force when that hand hit the road.

A good samaritan stopped his van on the other side of the street and was running towards me (calling out) before I started to get up. Rather embarrassedly I told him that I had just tripped and would be all right. Walked to a nearby bus shelter and sat for a few minutes to recover myself. At that point I assessed the worst damage as a bad graze on right elbow, and so headed off to finish the run, after checking that the camera still worked!

Through the day the swelling has increased, as has the pain and stiffness.

The planned photograph of Young L and his brother, mother and father with us on the occasion of his fourth birthday was not taken, and what pictures I did get were a bit blurred as I had difficulty holding the camera steady.

So this is what I chose for my one year blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.