The second half of life..

By twigs

Gull stretch

Wow! Productive day today :) Got lots done including quite a bit of planning and preparation for next year. Awesome feeling. I figured some time ago something about what makes me tick - what excites me and what doesn't.

Like most jobs teaching has it's share of jobs that are not enjoyed (understatement!). For me, it's marking and report writing. Give me a project to co-ordinate or an event to organise or a new unit to write and I'm in my element.

A while back I had a conversation with a friend about what kind of people we were and I had to agree - I tend to be someone who is quite 'past' oriented'. So it's kind of funny how the two tasks I struggle the most with at work are both tasks about the past - what's been and gone - but the tasks that motivate me are very future orientated . . . .

. . . but those who have it 'right' are those like this gull who live very much in the now.

Very few human beings are actually where they are, rooted in the presence of now. They are continuously reaching out for more. They're being pulled out of now, which is all there ever is-life itself. Nothing else ever exists except now ~ Eckhart Tolle

So now - I'm off to bed :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.