Coffee Spoons

By MissMarj

Archibald Campbell Tait

To commemorate
In his native country the piety the virtues and the wisdom
of
Archibald Campbell Tait
Archbishop of Canterbury
1868 - 1882
Friends and admirers in Scotland
Have erected this monument
On the site of the house
In which he was born

Inscription under the statue (at the back of the McEwan Hall)

I walk past this statue most days but today stopped to find out who this distinguished (and I have to say slightly bored-looking) gentleman is. I've looked him up on Wikipedia and he was quite a guy! I think I'm most impressed by his success in the matters of administration and organisation, which brought into play his sound practical judgement and strong common-sense. Oh, we always need more of that!

Oan yersel' Archie!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.