Off Centre

By RachelCarter

Straight on?

I chose this photo out of the 'Twenty-Four Hurried Snaps As My Camera Battery Fails' It's a lovely little camera for close ups and detail and I've been pleasantly surprised at what it's capable of...
But I have 2 major complaints:
1. It takes 2 x ordinary AA batteries and they run out very quickly.
& 2. It doesn't like landscapes and distances

Bit of a problem when you live in Panorama Land.

Anyway...
I chose this photo, not because it was my favourite and my best but because it sums up what I love about where we live. There's a good balance of remoteness and civilisation; sea and land, salt and sand, town and mud. You can feel miles from anywhere but wherever you go there are little markers of history, farming, or tourist walks. And over the brow of the highest hills are views of towns, villages, hamlets. You know that help is there should you need it. There's a sense of place; a sense of history. Old stone walls tell you that this has been considered a good place to live for a very long time. And the good strong, healthy, uninterrupted Atlantic breeze can blow away the strongest whiff of sheep/cow/dog/badger/fox/mole/other poo.
I also chose the photo because it's got water in it. I've noticed how people who don't live near the sea like to get a fix of water in a photo!

People often ask us if we're 'going anywhere nice on holiday this year?' But I don't see the point, do you?

I had a terrible night's sleep last night and after finally dozing off, woke up again at 6.30. but I feel fine - which is odd. I was upset by 2 things that have dragged me back to the darkest days of my past. One is this dratted 1930's poetry that's part of my literature course - and which I attempted to study for A level literature (24 years ago!) I ended up not turning up for lessons in the second year... and the other is similarities between my memories of secondary school and our eldest daughter's feelings about her education after being presented with her GCSE results last night. It's the same school that I went to and I don't like to be reminded of it. To save you the self-indulgent self-pitying whinge, I'll just say, I hated being 15-18 years old and any reminder of it makes me very low. I nearly used a photo of some sheep because sheep-like qualities in those around her are often part of a girls problems when she is growing up...

Anyway... Today's walk dragged me away from all that crap. There's nothing like a battering from a forceful sea breeze and a steep muddy slope to negotiate for getting one out of one's inner wranglings.

Onwards and upwards! as they say.

It's good here, innit?
:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.