CrocusMan

By TonyG

It's a Hedgehog!

A is a Hegdehog at Brownies. As she went to Brownies before her birthday tea the obvious cake to make was a hedgehog .... and very good it was too.

Growing up I never had the patience for learning to use my fathers toolkit, or perhaps he didn't have the patience to teach me? I loved to watch and help my Mum and my Nanna in their kitchens though. Now I'm married to someone who loves to assemble kit furniture, drill holes etc while I am much happier in the kitchen, especially when I can exercise my artistic side on a cake.

For the record:

8oz marg, 8oz castor sugar, 7oz SR flour, 1oz cocoa, 3 eggs, 1tsp baking powder, 2tblsp milk. All together in the food processor. Oven gas 4, one large pyrex bowl (I used oval casserole dish) cook about 1hr or until fork test comes out clean.

Cut one end to a triangle and slope for his face, Decorate with lashings of chocolate buttercream (butter not marg) and chocolate buttons inserted on edge for the 'spines'. Smartie eyes and a glace cherry nose.

He looked a treat seen head on but I like this pic best :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.