too numerous

When we gave the measurements to the shed-selling man I was careful to stress that the depth and door width were particularly important: the former due to the need for the shed to fit into a relatively narrow space beside the house and the width of the door to ensure that the door-opening would be wide enough to insert bicycles into the shed whilst also ensuring that the doors would open fully in what remained of the relatively narrow space beside the house after the depth of the shed was taken into account. I was therefore somewhat less than pleased to discover that whilst the width of the doors was at the upper agreed limit, the depth of the shed was somewhat greater than requested, even without taking into account the additional offset required due to the lip of the roof. Whilst this proves that if you want something doing properly (including using pressure-treated timber rather than something lightly splashed on one side with preservative, using screws or bolts from the inside rather than nails from the outside and making it so that the doors opened easily rather than being jammed tightly together) you should do it yourself, my lack of available time and the apparent disinclination of timber-yards to do anything helpful like display their prices online would have meant that I might have got round to starting it next summer. One thing I did manage to do was a little diagram showing the measurements, which the shed-building man was so taken with that he kept them when we placed the order despite me thinking that they would be laughed at by people used to taking measurements for sheds seeing as my only training in technical drawing finished in 1992 when I completed my CDT GCSE. I was anticipating an unwillingness to contemplate the world in millimetres but was slightly worried when the length (95") and the height (49") were rounded up and down to 8' and 4' respectively, subdivisions of whole feet apparently being too complicated (though the eventual external length has somehow ended up exactly at the specified 7'11"). I'm too pissed off with them and not good at complaining enough to be able to carry off not sounding pissed off with them if I speak to them on the telephone so Nicky's going to ring them tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.