Starry Eyed Surprise

By bellerock

Bitter Pills to swallow

The move to Somerset in September came at time when my family was perhaps at its most fragile.

We've coped fairly well with all that's been expected of us and I realise that we've all been through one of life's more stressful situation and have lived to tell the tale.

With Claire's diagnosis of ASD four weeks behind us, I thought that support and resources would be more forthcoming.

How naive.

After many phone calls and emails to CAHMS Dundee these last 3 weeks, finally we have secured a letter confirming diagnosis and outlining the interventions required.

One of the most important statements on the letter confirms that Claire should start to receive medication as soon as possible.

A visit to the GP in Castle Cary today proves that just like the hoops we've had to jump through to get Claire assessed and diagnosed, getting her medication will also be an emotional battle between us, the GP, Dundee CAHMS and Somerset CAHMS.

And here was me thinking that we were all on the same side, trying to put the child's best interests first.

As I take my daily dose of these life changing pills , it is a stark reminder to me that I need to be strong and fight hard to get Claire the care she deserves.

The gloves are off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.