Ticking Away the Moments

By wiiaholic

Old & New

I know, another blurry snatched photo in the dark! Have had 2 full days locked away in conferences without enough time to take a bit more time and care over my blip photo.

This photo shows one of the things I love about London - old and new side by side. On the left is the Tower of London, one of the great historic landmarks. In the background is the Shard, not quite finished but already dominating the London skyline - more details here in case you are interested.

And you can also see Tower Hill underground station. According to Wikipedia, it was built on the site of the former Tower of London tube station that was closed in 1884. It opened in 1967. I'm not sure I can get my head round the fact that this tube station closed CLOSED in 1884 - you forget how long London has been travelling underground! It is the oldest underground railway in the world, with the first section opening in 1863.

How can anyone not love London?!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.