An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Get it on.....

Bang a Gong! :-))

The first time we viewed our new house, way back in June this year, one of the first things I noticed as we entered the second hallway (a hoose with 4 hallways! How mad is that??!) was this GONG. It was love at first sight! (well it was for me. The gong hasn't expressed any feeling towards me one way or the other ;-)

The owners said they were downsizing and auctioning a lot of their furniture and gave us first dibs on anything we fancied buying from them. I think they were rather surprised when the gong was top of my list! And much to my delight, they agreed we could have it! :-)))

I've had the pleasure of our new house all to myself today, for the first time! Just wonderful! In the toasty kitchen, hailstones battering down outside, music on, me singing to my heart's content (the acoustics in the kitchen are fab!!!) and a big pot of chilli on the go.

Finished preparing for my Girly Sleepover tomorrow night. The airbeds are blown up, the wine is chilling, the glasses are polished, the nibbles are ready to go and the camera battery is charged....just counting the hours till they all descend. :-))

I can't tell you how much this bunch of women mean to me. We met 12 years ago when we all took part in the Partners in Policymaking course. Since we all had a child with a disability we bonded immediately but what has kept us bonded in all the years since, is the love and respect we share as the result of each of our struggles not to accept the crap services that exist for children with disabilities. We have fought many battles, collectively and independently, for each of our own and other people's children. Well that and the fact they are the warmest, wittiest, naughtiest, most supportive and trustworthy of friends a woman could hope to have! Oh and they like wine and gin and vodka and southern comfort and drambuie... and cake! So it's all good!!! :-))

We are scattered all over Scotland so rarely get to meet up all together at the same time, but when we do........!!!! :-))

And they've yet to see the gong! Methinks there will be a lot of banging!!! :-))

Apologies in advance as after this evening, I just know it will be Monday before I get anywhere near commenting on your lovely journals!

Have a great weekend Peeps! xxx

(Note to self - Don't drink and blip! Don't drink and blip! Don't drink and blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.