michigan man

By outdoorguy

New Kayak

I'm beginning to think I have as big of a kayak problem as I do a camera problem. This is my 3rd one, although I have given my first one (Salma Kayak) to my son Jeff.

Jeff went with me today to pick up the new one. It was in Grand Rapids..107 miles away..according to Google Maps. It was the home of President Gerald Ford.

It was also Black Friday. What were we thinking? Actually..I had already been to Home Depot, and Meijers, a midwest deptartment store. A new 18volt drill, and a genuine Daisy Red Ryder BB gun. (Please don't tell my wife.) A young 30-something guy in front of me said.."You better watch that thing. You'll shoot your eye out." HA-HA.

We got to the sports store, and I told them.."If you got one to match my little truck..I'll take it. Wouldn't you know it. Firebrick Red. Actually..I had already bought it online, and red was the only color they had left, but I do think it's pretty.

My wife doesn't believe me..but I did buy it with her in mind. It is supposed to be a real stable boat. After going over in Salma..I wanted something that stayed up..whether it be for me or someone else. It also is an open design..much like a canoe.

I took it out for a short ride when we got home. I went to the state park, so I could use their dock, and not get my feet wet. As you can see.. THE DOCKS WERE OUT ON DRY LAND!! I carefully got in the water, and shimmied my way out. A comfortable ride with a real comfortable seat.

The kayak doesn't have a name yet. I'm waiting for something to come to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.