A Slow Life

By Sootmouth

Movember: Day Twenty Six

It's the general election here today. All over New Zealand folk are shuffling off to the voting booths with one question in mind - "Who's going to do the least damage?". Sorry! I meant "Who have the best policies?".

Shirt: Another big brother shirt. I used to wear this one all the time and it's great to be giving it a spin once again. I really like how it's made of two types of striped material.

Accessory: 'Happy Day' embroidered bread. I made this for my flatmate Jean-Marie's birthday last year, after she had pointed out some cool embroidered bread on the internet. She liked the slice so much that she varnished it to protect it from mould. However, she needn't have bothered - I kept an unvarnished test piece that has also remained decay free for over a year!

Yum - that's New World budget bread for you.

Expression: I did 'happy' on Day Two and 'hungry' on Day Fifteen so this wasn't straight forward. I'm calling this expression 'Democratic Dining' and it's inspired by election day.

The different colours on the bread represent the different political parties. 'Happy day' indicates the media build up to the once-in-every-three-year opportunity to exercise our democratic right. My expression, although clearly indicating an intention to eat, reveals a disinterested reluctance with it all - just like the majority of the New Zealand public I imagine!

Hey, that reads not bad! When I started all this who would have thought I'd be creating works of political art?

Happy voting everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.