NZ Red Damselfly

Xanthocnemis zealandica, a native of New Zealand. On a blackcurrant leaf.

This is a very rare sight in my garden. I think it must be due to the unusually wet spring we are having. Normally in November it is dry from frequent nor'westers and I have to keep up a watering routine in the garden. This year, however, it has rained every two or three days I need water only in the greenhouse.

Although today has been fine and warm the mountains have not been on show.

Polling day for our General Election. I voted, but it won't have much effect. The status quo is set to make a big win. The ruling party is so strong in our electorate that they could put up a paperclip as candidate and it would get in with a wide margin. Still, if you don't vote you have no right to complain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.