cyclops

By cyclops

Bridge

I, like many others I am sure, love the Forth Bridge. Many call it the Forth Rail Bridge, but it was built as the Forth Bridge, and I do not believe it should have to change it's identity just because of some jonny-come-lately road bridge.

It is generally admired for it's cantilevers which give it the distinctive shape that I, like many other photographers (can I call myself that? I'm just a happy snapper really..,), tend to focus on. My last blip of the bridge is framed around a cantilever tower , and my earlier blip also used these famous shapes.

People often forget the beautiful brick towers supporting the more conventional box girder sections at the end, and the graceful arches over the line where the box girder gives way to the first cantilever section.

Personally I think that the box section has an intricate geometric beauty of its own, and that's why today it floats magically across the unsettled sky of my blip. I will be back to look at the stone towers through my viewfinder some day soon...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.