Our life in the Borders

By annmaureen

Away from home

We've been with the grandchildren for a few days and have now moved on to mum's, on the south coast. A walk by the sea did not happen - my partner muttering about a cold wind! So I just wandered around the streets of neat bungalows, and ended back in the back garden. This is a happy place, even on a dull November day. We've had many family parties here - the sun always shining. There are bitter-sweet memories too - my dad working in the garden and then, in the last years sitting, with my much loved aunt, just enjoying the flowers and birds. It is good to remember. For my mum too, the garden is a constant pleasure - even now, as it goes into its winter sleep.

That gnome has seen a lot over the years - no wonder it's looking a little mildewed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.