Wayfarer

By wayfarer

Mum & Dad

We are staying down at my dad's place for a few weeks to help with looking after him as my sister and niece, who get landed with most of the responsibility, have a lot on their respective plates at present, so we've moved in.
I'm not sure my dad knows what has hit him yet. We started off by cleanig everywhere and making a bedroom into a kind of lounge so that when he decides to hit the sack, we have a place of refuge.
We went to see my mum today - the first time for quite a few weeks as there was an outbreak of scabies at the home the last time I was down. Like many people with Dementia, she was happy, sad, angry - her mood changing every couple of minutes, so we had an entertaining time with her - and fun too.
All of us are getting used to the new situation - it doesn't come naturally to me - I have to fight the urge to run every now and then but I'm getting there. Marianne has been an absolute rock and soon puts me right if I start whingeing, thank God. It would be much tougher without her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.