Five things

By fivethings

Bent double, laughing til tears come

1. Ok, today I've been hanging out with and working with some very cool people. I've stood on the stage of the Kings Theatre, just before the house opened, shook hands with Alan Cumming and (a little more excitingly) Johnny Beattie. I've been in the audience that helped raise the roof for 90 minutes on a rainy day. Did I take any photos? No. No I didn't.

2. Hey ho. I was sitting with Mum and aunty Linda and her pal Jenny on one side, my boss on the other. We all of us laughed more or less constantly for the whole time. Uplifting, heartwarming, funny. What more can you ask for?

3. Well, yes there were sweets thrown into the crowd. you could ask for that.

4. I know this is a daft thing to say, but it's good to laugh isn't it? Collectively, shared, communally. It's good to find yourself clapping with pleasure, looking to your side and knowing that the feeling is shared. Delighted. Delighted with nothing more than words and stories and cleverness. It seems simple but that's a rare thing and its power should never be forgotten.

5. This is a photo of a photo of my dad. My favourite photo of him. Bent double. Laughing until tears come.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.