Cathedral Square: Christchurch

This is the damaged centre of my city. Best viewed large

For a couple of weekends the demolition calendar is allowing a temporary walk from Cashel St, down Colombo St and into the square. The dangers are spelled out and you do it at your own risk.

I went with a friend late today. It was sobering and for me felt like the time was right to take the opportunity. Fair to say you wouldn't want any major seismic activity while you were there. You can't just wander anywhere, there are plenty of fences.

For me it was about seeing it with my own eyes, not in photos, not on TV, on on youtube. It gave me context and an appreciation of scale. Lots of gaps and enormous piles of rubble in the distance. But where we walked was clean and tidy. That and Christmas decorations along the route added to the errieness.

I think the 3 buildings in the background on the left are to be demolished. The 400 pages of technical detail on the state of the cathedral indicate it needs to be deconstructed. Some are opposed to this which seems strange to me given the evidence.

The white building just visible on the edge of the tree on the right is a hotel. It's being fixed and is due to open in the second half of next year. I think the BNZ building behind the chalice on the right is to be demolished too.

Yes, it's sad and surreal and your mind does odd things like think it's a film set. While I found it surreal I found it positive and exciting. We have the opportunity to build a city that is new, vibrant and sustainable.

Other than that today is election day in NZ. Every 3 years we have the privilege of voting for our elected parliment. Each time I vote I'm struck by the honour, privilege and responsibility. How wonderful to live in a country with a vibrant democracy, where every vote does count and people of modest means (well, some) can be elected. My eyes fill with tears each time I cast my vote, it's such a privilege and I feel a deep gratitude.

I may not be trilled with the result but we're free to vote, argue and differ. We can all have a say, there are no guns, threats, imprisonment or anarchy. That alone is worth celebrating.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.