I said yeah

By Isaidyeah

Perfect measurements

A bit of a departure for today's shot.

This afternoon I made a Christmas cake - also a bit of a departure this year. I've tried Lois Daish's recipe - 'Janet's Chocolate Christmas Cake' from her book 'A Good Year'.

The recipe has always intrigued me because it includes figs, prunes, crushed hazelnuts and melted dark chocolate - all of which I really like. I've made a couple of other Lois Daish Christmas cakes before ('Small Rich Christmas Cake' and 'Braemar Fruit Cake') and I've never been disappointed. I'm hoping for great things this year.

But the other reason for this shot is that for my birthday a few weeks ago I was given some electronic scales which have changed my baking life. I was able to measure out exactly the right amount of sugar. Brilliant!

It was also election day here today. Not so brilliant. The less said about that the better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.