From the beginning

By AnnBaker

Saltire in the Red Zone

Not quite sure what all the blipping of Saltires is about yet but i thought i would get in on the act.

We went for a stroll to the Christchurch Red Zone where they have opened up a walkway for the next few weeks.

When we left Scotland I was lucky enough to get a job working here in the square where I worked for 7 years. It was a great place to people watch in your lunch breaks. There was always buskers including the World Busker Festival where lots of the Edinburgh Fringe acts would perform, I saw the All Blacks here and also the winning Crusaders squad, I even got to hold the America's cup in the square so it is a place I really love. Since the Earthquake like so many others I work in a lifeless industrial estate where we are the lucky ones and look forward to the time our city is rebuilt and ready for us to move back to.

I just wanted to add my Saltire in Cathedral Square for all the Scots who call this home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.