A Lost Island

By lostisland

The Peak District National Park.

I'm demonstrating on a field course for Biology undergraduates over the next few days. This photo was taken this morning from the gritstone 'dark' peak over to the limestone 'white' peak (well, slightly to the left of it). I'm standing at the top of gritstone which offers some of the best bouldering and climbing in the UK (well, I think anyway).

Sheffield is right on the edge of the peaks, it's literally a 15 minute drive from my front door and it spreads all the way across to Manchester. It's so beautiful and so varied... there's barren moorland, forests, extorionate tourist villages, dales covered in wild flowers... and its moods change with the weather.

Still.... I have no idea why it is called the 'peak' district...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.