Was It Really So Long Ago

By LincolnGreen

Beloved, I'm Just Taking the Aston Out For a Spin!

A few months ago, I became the proud owner of a small but significant piece of paper. Thanks to my Sister and her family, it would have me charging round the National Circuit at the Rockingham Motor Speedway this morning.

We rose early to find rain and on the way to the circuit, fog in a distant valley. Once briefed by an instructor and kitted out with crash helmet, we were driven round the circuit and introduced to the proper way to drive. The braking points, turn in points and apexes of each and every corner had to be noted. The first lap was leisurely, in keeping with the day of the week. The second lap though was not ... and I loved it.

Next, it was my turn behind the wheel. The sun was out by now and the track starting to dry. I've plenty of experience of fast before, but only on two wheels. I'd never before been this close to an Aston Martin, never before driven one, never before found out what nearly 400hp feels like and never before been on a damp racetrack in a car!!

Yes, the track was wetter than I'd hoped so I approached the first corner in the style of a typical Sunday driver. Clearly Chris the instructor knew both the track and the car much better than me, which incidentally is saying very little. Nevertheless, I squeezed the right pedal, steadily, all the way to the floor. Instantly, the chicane came and went, straight through the right then left, almost without turning the wheel. Before long, I was passing other cars, a Ferrari, taking a late apex at the hairpin to pass a Lamborghini and then ease past a cruising Ariel Atom.

"Try getting on the power earlier, coming out of the next corner" suggested Chris in his calm, confident manner. OK, you're the boss I thought. He well knew, it would cause the back to slide out. I surprised myself; without thinking, corrected the slide with opposite lock steering and we were away again.

"I just wanted to show you how slippery it is out here!!"
"Thanks Chris ... I owe you one!!"

He gave me an extra lap as things were going well, but all too soon it was time to head back to the pits and park.

A thoroughly exhilarating experience, highly recommended and kindly shot by Beloved.

I hope you like it!!! *grins widely*

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.