Let There Be Light

By solli

And With Your Spirit

This is the first Sunday of Advent. The Vatican approved two changes to the Catholic litany effective today, returninng to the response language originally found in the Gospel.

I for one am Glad. For the past 40 years, I've stuck out like a sore tongue among my brethren. When the priest said "May the Lord be with you", expecting to hear "And also with you" I invariably replied with my childhood version "And with your Spirit." My adherence to the old ways elicited pitying glances from the faithful around me, but no matter, the Holy Spirit must have heard my prayers.

Et cum spiritu tuo. Praise God.

On the flip side, I happened to catch Cain pummeling Abel on the St. Genevieve Church lawn this afternoon. When the boys noticed I had a camera, the little sinners ran like hell.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.