Changing skyline

I had a few errands to do after work on the edge of the city. Plenty of dust flying in the wind.

A number of Christchurch blippers have taken shots similar to this. The 2 large cranes are helping to deconstruct the 26 story Grand Chancellor Hotel. And yes, that is a lean on it. Well placed dynamite would have been quicker but the decision was to go for the slow method.

The yellow crane in the foreground appears to be having a go at whatever is left in the Poplar Lane/High St area.

View large to see how much of this shot is clearly going to come down. I took the stark approach when processing as that is the reality.

Thank you for your thoughtful comments on Saturday's blip of remnants of the Chirstchurch Cathedral. I guess these shots are part of the process of processing, documenting and integrating.

I experienced something unique today. The university photographers work in an old house next to me. I visit them each morning to make my coffee using their machine. They're in the process of photographing the univerisities antiquities collection. I don't think I was supposed to but I touched a tablet 3000 - 4000 years old. It looks similar to something you might buy from a gift shop at a garden centre. (A sizable chip in one corner so don't pay full price ;-).

Another favourite is a small pottery jug 4000 years old. Imagine that, 4000 years old. It has a remarkable similarity to something I made when I was about 7 years old. I don't mean that in a derogatory way, I'm amazed at the endurance of good design.

2 more big sleeps. I must away to do some washing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.