Five things

By fivethings

Head. Balance.

Five things I've loved about yoga.

1. I have something really good to do on a Monday night. If you don't watch, a Monday night can turn gloomy on you. Specially these dark, rainy ones. Having something regular and uplifting at the start of the week suits me down to the ground.

2. I learn stuff. It's body meets mind and its dead intresting. Take tonight. I have one side that's much tighter than the other and I asked why. There's loads of possible reasons, one of them being the relationship I had with my dad. How cool is that?

3. I surprise myself. Every week I look at Nic demonstrating poses and every time I say to myself 'I'll never be able to do that'. A minute later, there I am doing it. When I achieved head balance tonight for the first time, I burst out laughing. As everyone else got up there, the laughter rippled round, Achieving something that is physically complicated, that I had no idea I could do makes me laugh.

4. It's peaceful. It's not often I get the chance to spend a focused, ordered and wholly positive few hours in my own head.

5. It's the start. Being at the start of something is a very cool place to be.

(this is a photo of a shop with it's deccies on the outside - you wouldn't see that in the southside, I tell you)





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.