Attempting Schabibble

By TACoogler

The Beep

Have you ever seen the Hyundai commercial with the guy trying to hunt down the smoke detector in his house that has a low battery? Well, that's how my day has been.

Last night, as I was falling asleep, I heard one of the smoke detectors in the house start to beep. Being sleepy, I decided to wait til morning to find it. When I got up I tried to hunt it down. I looked at the one in the hallway and waited for the beep, and the beep came from behind me. I turned into the kitchen and decided to check the one that was across from the stove.

It wasn't there! But then I remembered that we had placed it on top of one of the china cabinets because it would go off every time we opened the oven. I reached up and grabbed it, but when the beep came, it wasn't from it either.

I started searching around the room, trying to see if maybe it was the one in the hall or the one in my hand. Then I started looking in all the nooks and crannies of the kitchen to see if maybe someone was overly paranoid and thought that the windows or closets might spontaneously combust.

As I was checking above the windows, I heard a beep directly to the right of me. I waited for it again and noticed it was coming from around the sink. I opened up the drawer next to the sink and low-and-behold, there was the culprit.

Now I have to solve the mystery of where this smoke detector belongs, because all of them are in their places.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.