Mediterranean Wanderer

By monkeyhanger

A guy needs a project part 2

All my effort and the kind gifts of fellow blipper Billygoat have paid off and I have been using this all week to get to and from my new job at Jewel and Esk College in Dalkeith.

If you saw my earlier blip of my old frame you will have seen the before and this is the after. It is based on a bike frame I bought when I was 15 and I used to race on as a teenager. I have taken it back to bare metal and lavished it with care and attention, then with parts donated and some other parts bought at a local charity bike salvage place, I have created a bike that I am very happy with.

I have since clocked up around 200 miles and am starting to get stronger. I am hoping to join up with a local sunday ride run by the Edinburgh Road Club which sets off from the commonwealth pool in groups of different ability. It will be good to ride in company again and get a bit of a chaingang going but I will see if I get dropped or not.

So far the new steed is simply getting me around town and to and from work which is a 15 mile round trip with a few steep climbs so my legs need some work before I will be happy and keeping up.

The whole project has come in at just over £100 and I am happy with the end result. This will allow me to sell my more expensive and much more up to date GT road bike and put some of this money towards some sail repairs for Madison.

Hope you are all having sun the same as we are.

Have a great weekend.

MH

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.