Fionabun78

By Fionabun78

Sample of my past

My lovely grandmother is moving house tomorrow. She has sold her house and is moving to a small flat in a sheltered complex, to avoid her daily battle with the stairs. Granny Campbell is 94 so it's a big upheaval for her.

My dad and uncle have been helping her pack over the last few weeks. Today, we found this embroidery sampler dating back to 1840 (approx) completed by my gran's own great-grandmother, Elizabeth Mathewson of Hillend, Fife ..... my great-great-great grandmother! My gran was orphaned and raised by her grandparents and aunties from 1918 onwards. This has passed down in the family since then.

The embroidery reads "This I have done so that you may see, the care my parents took of me. Elizabeth Mathewson, Hillend'.

I have learned that most girls completed embroidery samplers back in these days to demonstrate their skills.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.