The Photo Diary of Alison

By alisoncrawford

Eyes for You

Found an Aspen today on juniper rd in cloudcrody country. Found some interesting objects (birthday gifts) in town today. Grandparents took us to a restaurant called the Western where they persisted to order a sandwich called the Monte Cristo which has to be the most glutenous idea for a sandwich ever. I mean I've heard of some pretty glutenous sandwiches but this may take the cake. It's a ham and cheese sandwich that has been fried in egg (kind of like french toast), but they say at the lodge it comes with powdered sugar and jam on top. Heart attack waiting to happen. I had the veggie burger which was quite superb, and a pitcher of widmer. mmmmm heffeweisen! Later, we played tennis and walked around the neighborhood and through the woods a bit. Unfortunately the Lincoln National forest has been closed due to the lack of rainfall this year. No hiking for us.

I've been reading a lot this trip. Some interesting news articles and a book called evening class by Maeve Binchy. My mom loves her, and I fear I may have butchered the name. She is a good writer and so far, I am really getting into the characters. Something I must journal; Our grandparents say the most ridiculous things. They agree with about everything Fox news says b/c it's what they want to hear, and my grandpa storms around saying damn environmentalists. When he says this I decide it's better to hide and not speak a word b/c there is absolutely no point in arguing with this 84 year old man.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.