A Writer's Life

By Awriterslife

Surprise on a quiet day

The plan today was to work. And grocery shop. And cook. I did work a bit, but never made it out of the house, which means I had nothing to cook. But I sat dutifully at my table, for hours, trying to get done what needs to be done. Trying being the operative word. Ah well, maybe tomorrow.

When I lived in New York last year, in a rather strange boarding house (375 women in the same place, there is bound to be some weirdness), Jo was my "Webster wife": the person I ate with, discussed love matters, familial craziness, New York noises, Harry Potter and other fun subjects. We spent a lot of time together, and because we saw each other every day, including moments when we didn't exactly feel on the top of our game, it became a no-nonsense, honest relationship. When I opened the front door and looked in my mailbox this morning, I had a nice surprise. A parcel, for me! I never get parcels, unless it's from Amazon or any other book sellers (I call them pushers...). Jo sent me a early Christmas present : a cool match stylus, for my multiple Apple devices, a sweet Christmas card, and a tiny Advent calendar, that arrived just in time for me to be able to open the first door tomorrow. Ok, don't tell her, but I cheated, and opened the first one tonight. Anyways. Nice surprise, on a rather boring Wednesday, spent in my study with the crazy cat fighting for either space or attention.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.