Old College

Am doing loads of depth interviews at the moment, and this is where I was doing one today.

Later, Cyclops and I went to see We Will Rock You at the Playhouse.

I'm really torn on this one as in many ways it was the best musical I've seen on tour. The singing was excellent, the dancing tight, the set and costume and lighting impressive. The songs were great, I like Queen. But I'm not sure I could bring myself to watch it again. I hated the story, I thought it was awful. When you go and see a musical you don't expect to see the best play/story you've ever seen but this was just horrible. Eurgh. It was shallow, there was little character development, and the 'jokes' were the worst kind of innuendo and Queen references shoehorned in wherever possible. There was little original or clever or witty about it. Ad I know it doesn't have to be that way with 'jukebox musicals'. Our House has a terrific story, and I can't believe I'm saying this but even Mama Mia! is better.

I felt the leads did the best they could with it. Big love to the lead guy, Noel Sullivan (yes, Noel out of Hear'Say / Nessa's flatmate he he) who I thought was outstanding (perhaps world class) and I would go out of my way to see him in a musical in the future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.