Lathyrus Odoratus

By lathyrus

Bisporella

You should be looking at an image of the very spectacular Magpie Fungus. Its an uncommon type of inkcap. When I found a group of three this morning, one of which was intact, I got over excited. Well that's my excuse anyway. That plus the fact that I was virtually unpside down squeezed inbetween a barbed wire fence, a holly bush, brambles and the fallen trunk of a beech tree in howling wind and lashing rain. When I got home I found the image was truly unworthy. I hope to return tomorrow to see if I fare any better. Anyway, the alternative, and bringing my species list to 99 (identified) and 22 (unidentified) since I started looking in mid September, is this fantastically lemony yellow spot fungus on a piece of dead birch. I believe this is called 'bisporella citrina'. The fruiting bodies are minute (perhaps half a millimetre) but there are loads of them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.