The Wren

By TheWren

No water shortage here ..

This morning I woke to a sunny day!

Friends arrived to take Cara for the day as they wish to have a 'dry run' before looking after her while I am on holiday from next week. Bruce looked a bit bereft when she left so I decided to take him back up to Loch Turret reservoir to see how it would look today in sunshine. The loch is enclosed deep in the mountains at the head of Glen Turret and is approximately 3 miles long. It has Ben Chonzie to the west and Choineachain Hill to the east and while these certainly provide some shelter from the wind it is not a warm place at this time of year. The temperature was only 2' when we arrived at the car park but I was clad sensibly so felt quite warm, especially as I could see that elusive sun!. Bruce was in his element again and ran and ran!

While I was blip enabled by the unexpected sunshine I was also blip bewildered as there were so many possible opportunities. Once I work out how to do it I will post maybe four in my blipfolio and link them to here.

I eventually decided on this one as it shows the length of the loch and the hills enclosing it on three sides with a smattering of snow still clinging to the highest ground at the far end. The hills on the left are hidden from the sunshine so were still looking very cold and frosted although there was no snow actually on them. The greenery in the foreground is the top of a retaining wall which is now covered in really thick moss, which in turn is also spawning mini plants of its own. The reservoir is still overflowing into the channel and on into the river and will continue to do so for a while as there are several swollen burns cascading down the hills into the water. The water from this loch actually goes to make the Famous Grouse whisky at the Glenturret Distillery in the valley.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.