OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Starling

I was supposed to be volunteering with the RSPB today but, just before I left the house, I got a call saying it was cancelled due to the weather.

The forecast had been for severe gales overnight, but I don't think it was that bad. I certainly wasn't woken. The day too was not very bad, so I think we could have carried on. I was going to check more reserve fencing then help dig out invasive montbretia.
This photo is of an invasive species if you're in New Zealand, the USA etc. I like them. I don't suppose that a bunch of starlings ever turned up at the offices of a steamship company with their little suitcases in tow asking for passage to a new life in those countries, they were perfectly happy where they were.

This image might have been a little better for the application of some window-cleaner to the glass.

PS I just read that an old nickname for Kirkwall people used by other Orcadians was 'starlings'!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.