Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Going viral - against HIV/AIDS

My blips seem to be reflecting a lot of what can broadly be called 'social issues' this week but sometimes that's just the way it goes.

Today is World AIDS Day, so here's the AIDS memorial in St John's Gardens in Liverpool. It sits alongside the more usual monuments to politicians, philanthropists and the fallen of far too many wars and I went along to visit it during my lunch break today. I work in the same building as our local HIV/AIDS support service and I know for a fact that it's still very much a 'live' issue. In fact HIV is on the rise again in the UK and although treatments are much improved these days there's no magic 'cure' so it's not a time for any of us to be complacent. Be safe everyone!

Tomorrow - something completely different! I just don't know what yet...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.