'We are what we do.'

By Hasywell

In the spotlight 2...

What a day! I cannot believe we actually did it! One curry, 60 mini Christmas cakes, 6 loaves of bread, 60 mince pies, 60 ginger biscuits, 60 meringues, 40 turkey pasties and 2 apple crumbles were made in one day! Tomorrow will be: finish pasties, icing on the Christmas cakes, pizzas and adding the cream to the meringues! I felt really humbled by the whole experience today, the children were just amazing! I hope the village enjoy their feast tomorrow! Sadly Prince Charles and Camilla were unable to make the feast but sent a lovely letter with their apologies and wishes for a super day! The children ( and myself) were rather tickled pink at receiving a letter from Clarence House!

Three beautiful things:

Teamwork - today is the first real day that I have felt that everyone has pulled together as a team. It is taking time to earn their trust and sometimes this can be extremely wearing, but I do understand why after all the school has been through in the last few years.

Success - today has just been so successful, not just for me but more importantly for the children. They decided what they were going to cook and I did not limit them. Hence the vast range in menu for tomorrow but it just shows that it pays to aim big and go for it! The children have learnt so much today, so much more than if I had stopped them from making their own informed choices and decisions.

Cream cake - it was so tough to not sample all the cooking so treated myself to a cream cake instead!

One thing to be grateful for:
The ability to dream!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.