Stalk Bridge

Dean Bridge and Holy Trinity Church, Edinburgh, from a mysterious path I found whilst looking for a view. I walked around Stockbridge, annoyed that all the good views West have great big houses built on them so you can't see the sunset over the city.

Then I found the allotments, followed a path above them, slipped through a broken fence, found another path and followed it. I was convinced all the way along that it would pop out at Dean Bridge - but it didn't. Dead End.

5 second exposure with bus. (Balanced on a railing a gazillion feet above the Water of Leith).

So, I took some photies and turned around. To find I was locked in a private garden and had to go out the way I came in - down a muddy slope and through a broken fence in the dark.

Suffice to say I made it without being too muddy.

Then off to The Filmhouse to see... whatever was on! The Black Power Mixtape 1967-1975 was fairly bizarre, consisting of the US Black Power movement as recorded by Swedish filmmakers at the time. Lots of well-spoken, erudite people speaking simply to camera. Very "interesting". A (thank God) bygone age.

The church, by the way, is still a church but now called "The Christian Centre" instead of Holy Trinity Church. Which is fair enough really, since it was an electricity substation before the current Rhema Christian folks bought it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.