Let There Be Light

By solli

Myriad of Moods

I headed out to spot Harry, but the heron wasn't hanging out at the Nomahegan tributary. I thought he might be at Echo Lake instead.

He was hunkering by the bank, next to a fallen limb. But I'm nearsighted, and after taking a few snaps it occured to me that maybe I was taking pictures of a log. Well, that figures I thought. Upon a closer peer, I noticed a slight movement of his beak.

"Halllooooo solli" he called out to me. I felt so encouraged that he was in a sociable mood! He told me to get ready for a heron of a good time.

I followed along the banks of the lake watching as he moved in and out of the water, balancing on limbs, eyeballing insects. For a brief while he just stood there looking like a lost teenager. Harry is a marvelous bird of many moods who loves his habitat, and I'm completely smitten.

He's pretty when viewed large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.