Chronic Sunshine

By ChronicSunshine

What is a World Without Books?

"O Day of days when we can read! The reader and the book, either without the other is naught." ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

This evening, my husband and I stopped off at one of our favorite places: the library!

It never ceases to amaze and overwhelm me the amount of knowledge I have yet to consume. And I am forever grateful to my mother, for instilling in me a great love of the written word!

I am partial to history and biographies. Since I was a child, I've had the habit of becoming obsessed with certain subjects: the sinking of the Titanic, the murder of the Romanov's, World War 2, and the lives of Louisa May Alcott, Helen Keller and Laura Ingalls Wilder.

So today, I did not disappoint. I checked out a book on Alexandra Romanov. I've read about Anastasia and Alexei, but not their mother. I also checked out a book on a woman who was a spy during World War 2...sounds fascinating, wouldn't you agree? And to round out the trip, a book on the search for the site of the Garden of Eden and a book on how to save money while shopping.

I am quite pleased! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.