Captured Longhorn

A tiny (5mm) flower longhorn beetle is captured by a baby grey house spider. The beetle is a New Zealand native of the Zorion species. The spider is an Australian import, Badumna longinqua, a little less than one third of the adult size.

Sorry it's so fuzzy, but the scene was enacted on a shady grape leaf that was blowing in the wind. There was no opportunity to improve on it as the nocturnal spider was in a hurry to get her catch secured so that she could return to her dark hidey-hole.

I'm getting some sleep after resorting to fresh lemon balm tea with leaves picked from my garden. A mild brew is very potent, making me feel sleepy all the time, but I'm hoping that in a few days I will have reduced my overdraft at the sleep bank. It would be so nice to feel normal again.

One year ago: one of my most popular poppy shots.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.