The Blackcountry Man

By brickmaker

Sunrise Ripple.....

This Photo is nothing to do with what I am bout to put in this Journal.

Today has been a hard day, we have had to tell our workforce that our works is to close and 43 people (including me) are potentially redundant or at Risk in HR talk, all this just before Christmas, not a good time for all concerned.

We have struggled for three years with high cost of production and a low cost of sales, well this coming year will see a mega rise in energy cost as well as Raw Materials, so much so that we could never recover this extra cost with a price rise, so the decision was taken at the highest level to shut the works.

Our last day of production will be sometime in February, for me it will be at the end of February, I will then become an Ex-Brickmaker, well, there is a lot of water to go under the bridge before then so lets hope they come up with something, but I don't think this will be likely.

I am a firm believer in that things happen for reason so lets hope this is one of those times.

This has been a shit day, for all concerned.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.