Meanwhile, today in life

By richgreenwood

Entry 489 - My World AIDs Day

I decided to do a few things on world aids day this year, so here is what I did.

Top left: I spent a couple of hours pricing books in Oxfam in Pimlico, got most of the new donations in all priced up :)

"There are 42 million people in the world right now living with HIV/AIDS, and 8,000 people dying of the disease every day.
Around 95 per cent of these victims live in the developing world, and seven out of ten in sub-Saharan Africa.

Oxfam's global campaigning concerning HIV/AIDS is focused on two issues: improving access to essential medicines, and lobbying for increased effectiveness of the Global Fund in fighting diseases. Oxfam's Make Trade Fair campaign is linked to this, since it lobbies against international trade rules that prevent easy access to medicines (such as AIDS treatment drugs) in poor countries."

Top right: I went along to G-A-Y bar for a free HIV test, it was free and I was negative :)

Bottom Left: I stood in Kings Cross station for 3 hours with a bucket collecting any change for Positive East charity. At one point Rowan Atkinson came through the station and refused to by a red ribbon. Thank god for the likes of a gentleman who gave me £20, a lady who gave me £10 and two people who gave me £5.

"Positive East is a leading community-based HIV Charity. By building on more than 20 years of experience in the successful delivery of services across east London boroughs, we are now even more able to provide a fully comprehensive and co-ordinated practical and emotional support for those people living with and affected by HIV in east London."

Bottom Right: I finished the day at Guy's Hospital Student Union bar, for a "World AIDs day after party" with my friend Naomi.


As always:

We all can make a difference, whether it's through a donation, volunteering or simply making wiser decisions regarding your sexual health. Together we can stop the spread of HIV and end prejudice. HIV: Act Aware.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.